What Frith Isn’t – A Rambling Rant

I became aware of some of the events that triggered this through a different source. If we can to be taken seriously, we need to oppose racism and similar problems. I want to be clear that I do not know Ryan Smith at all and Steven Abell only through his writings related to the Troth. I fear he is quite wrong about McNallen and resent that I have had to convince a number of people that I am neither Nazi nor racist.

I am also reminded, in my research on the related issues, to something I wrote before:

https://facingthefireswithin.wordpress.com/2015/11/13/truth-in-anger/

I cannot remember the precise thing that triggered my workout that night but I know that the words I have heard on some AFA podcasts and writings as well as purported Asatru groups talking about “bogging” remind me of that lesson.

EmberVoices: Listening for the Vanir

Frith is not just etiquette. It’s not about saying what people want to hear so they don’t get upset. It’s not about avoiding making too much noise. It’s not about keeping your head down and going along to get along.

Frith is ethics. It’s about doing the right thing, being in right relationship, not just with the people you like personally, but with the community at large.

When activists point out that the frith is being disrupted in ways that you have been able to ignore and shrug off until they pointed it out, it can seem as though it is the activists who are breaking frith rather than whoever or whatever they are objecting to. After all, things seemed peaceful to you until they made all that noise, you could ignore the problem up until that point, and any problem you can ignore isn’t really a problem, right?

Wrong…

View original post 1,408 more words

Tags: , , ,

One response to “What Frith Isn’t – A Rambling Rant”

  1. aeddubh says :

    FWIW, the Abell/McNallen thing is resonating outside of Heathenism per se:

    http://www.patheos.com/blogs/johnbeckett/2016/01/racism-cannot-be-tolerated.html

Leave a Reply

