An article on the power of meditation

I find that even five minutes a day tied to longer term work is beneficial.

http://www.washingtonpost.com/news/inspired-life/wp/2015/05/26/harvard-neuroscientist-meditation-not-only-reduces-stress-it-literally-changes-your-brain/

As this keeps coming up, my fast meditation is:

1) Remove shoes

2) Optional reading (Could be almost anything from the Havamal to Zen and the Art of Motorcycle Maintenance to poetry to Frankenstein.)

3) 9 deep breaths in and out and 9 “Heimdall, Himdallr, Vindler, Rig”

4) 4 deep breaths in and out and 4 “Freya, Lady, Vanadis”

5) 9 deep breaths in and out and:

Hermod, Hel rider

Hermod, Sleipnir rider

Hermod, Nine Days rider

Hermod, Nine Nights rider

Hermod, Frigga’s rider

Hermod,  Frigga’s speaker

Hermod, Brave rider

Hermod, Dark rider

Hermod, Hel rider (sometimes 3 times)

6) 7 deep breaths followed by:

The Hag of the Iron Wood had three children,

And the daughter was death,

The son was destruction,

And the third encircled the world.

Roots of a mountain

Beard of a woman

Spittle of a bird

Breath of a fish

Footfall of a cat

Nerves of a bear

For Fenris must me chained (seize wrist)

Or chaos will be king (grab shoulder)

7) Close with Hails to Aesir, Vanir, ancestors, philosophers and specific deities as applicable

All of the above being self created over the last three years based on many influences.

Tags:

6 responses to “An article on the power of meditation”

  1. aeddubh says :

    Interesting. Are you working with a meditation teacher, or on your own?

  2. Úlfdís Járnviðar says :

    Reblogged this on Ironwood Witch and commented:
    I like this example of a ‘fast’ meditation from my kinsman’s practice. And of course, I rarely pass up a mention of my Mother and Her children.

    As well, I have found great benefit in basically forcing myself into a daily meditation practice. I often struggle with daily practice, and worked my way through T. Thorn Coyle’s “Crafting a Daily Practice”, which really really helped.

    Each morning, I strive to start my day with 9 four fold breaths, followed by candle gazing, sitting in silence and journaling – my goal is ten minutes of each, though on a day I’m in a rush, i’ll do 5. However carving out that part of my day to do 20-40 minutes of personal work has been invaluable. It really does even me out and make me calmer, nicer and more centered through out the day.

    I also work in my centering and grounding to this exercise – I spent 2-5 minutes centering during the candle gazing, and 2-5 during the eyes closed sitting to do my grounding.

    I count my breaths on a string of beads, which will be updated and re-created soon to make them a set of meditation beads/reminders. I like having a touch stone to work with.

Leave a Reply

