An article on mysticism in Heathenry and elsewhere

http://polytheist.com/wyrd-ways/2014/11/18/resacralizing-our-world/

Most specifically:

There’s a lovely story told by St. Therese of Lisieux in her autobiography that touches on this. She recounts that as a small child, she asked her sister if God loved saints more than regular people. The sister — in a moment of inspired brilliance–got a wine glass and a thimble and filled them each to capacity and asked the little Therese, ‘which is more full?’. The child got the point that we each experience the sacred to our capacity and “more” is a very subjective matter.

I love this analogy, even if mysticism will always be controversial and debated by science.  I am willing to accept that it may be more in our heads (if not all) than some of us think but I don’t believe that makes it less valuable.

I still debate where I fall on such a continuum, although I am likely as much mystic as philosopher these days.

8 responses to “An article on mysticism in Heathenry and elsewhere”

  1. EmberVoices says :

    Thank you for this. I didn’t know I needed to hear it until I read it and went “OH! Okay. I get it now.” I’m not even sure what just clicked, but it was clearly something I needed to hear.
    -E-

  2. aeddubh says :

    Good stuff. Thanks for sharing this.

    “I am willing to accept that it may be more in our heads (if not all) than some of us think but I don’t believe that makes it less valuable.”

    It’s all in our heads. Or all in our minds. We experience everything indirectly, through the models our mind constructs. Some argue that at least the “classical mystical experience” (of oneness with the All/oceanic feeling/what have you) is direct experience of reality, but even if so the *recollection* of that experience is constructed in our minds…

  3. journeyintoinsanity says :

    Reblogged this on journeyintoinsanity and commented:
    Very interesting read.

Leave a Reply

