A poem for Tyr regarding Fenris

Sourced from:

http://www.northernpaganism.org/shrines/tyr/writings/ties.html

I agree that there are seven things that bind Fenrir, for Tyr’s sacrifice was the last.  Justice is something to be remembered.  Honor binds Knowledge and Fury.

Ties

by Michaela Macha

This giant wolf, he still was pup to me;
I’d throw a stick and he would fetch a tree.
The others feared his hunger deep and raw,
while I in play would often grasp his maw.

A different sort of game I came to play:
For safety’s sake his trust I should betray,
not for what he had done, but he might do;
and for his freedom pledged my hand in lieu.

That part of me he’d keep, if nothing more;
like him, in years to come I’d miss it sore.
Six things that cannot be
wrapped him in chains;
the seventh, justice, unmentioned remains.

My choice was clear,
with all the worlds at stake:
That bond, as it tied him, made ours break.

This work by Michaela Macha is licensed
under a Creative Commons Attribution-NoDerivatives License.

4 responses to “A poem for Tyr regarding Fenris”

    • facingthefireswithin says :

      A kindred mate found it elsewhere. It fits my view of the binding. Tyr’s sacrifice makes seven pieces. Way back when I started my work, a friend insisted on the number 7 but could not say why. (They aren’t heathen.) I reflected for several days before I saw it. It is why I finish my mantras for that with: “For Fenris must be chained, or Chaos will be King” Granted, I copied that from a similar place.

      I was thinking of it because of your Tyr post several days ago.

      • EmberVoices says :

        Which is funny, because I think my Tyr post was in response to yours, yes?

        7 is an Abrahamic power number, and has thus long since permeated the West as a significant number. I’m not at all clear how true that was before Christianity reached north, but I know at least some folktales have instances of 6 vs. instances of 7.

        Obviously the usual Big Number in Norse stuff is 9, but for all I/we know, they attributed significance to a wider variety of numbers, and it just didn’t get recorded.

        But the numbers, to me, aren’t really the point here, although I can see why it would be a strong pointer to what was missing.

        The story itself, and the style of the poem, are what draw me in.

Leave a Reply

