Articles on Honor

http://www.artofmanliness.com/2012/10/01/manly-honor-part-i-what-is-honor/

The link above is to part 1 but there is a list of the other articles at the bottom (there are 7). We see many heathens refer to honor and I certainly do but we rarely see good studies of it. I certainly don’t believe in dueling or reflexive defense of reputation. I am still reading them all but these seem well written so far.

Part 2 deals with the growth of concern for the personal over the group and our more modern concepts being much older than we think:

http://www.artofmanliness.com/2012/10/16/manly-honor-part-ii-the-decline-of-traditonal-honor-ancient-greece-to-the-romantic-period/

Part 3 deals with the “Stoic-Christian Honor Code” and, as I am a student of Stoicism (with limits), was of interest.

http://www.artofmanliness.com/2012/11/06/honor-during-victorian-era/

Also, this poem from Part 3 is useful if you do not wish to read it:

True Nobility

“I ask not for his lineage,
I ask not for his name;
If manliness be in his heart,
He noble birth may claim.

I care not though of world’s wealth
But slender be his part,
If yes you answer when I ask,
‘Hath he a true-man’s heart?’

I ask not from what land he came,
Nor where his youth was nursed;
If pure the spring, it matters not
The spot from whence it burst.

The palace or the hovel
Where first his life began,
I seek not of; but answer this—
‘Is he an honest man?’

Nay, blush not now; what matters it
Where first he drew his breath?
A manger was the cradle-bed
Of Him of Nazareth.

Be nought, be any, everything,
I care not what you be,
If yes you answer, when I ask
‘Art thou pure, true, and free?”

Tags: ,

6 responses to “Articles on Honor”

  1. EmberVoices says :

    I should read these. I’ve always been very wary of “honor”, as I’ve seen the concept abused more than I’ve seen it used in good ways. -E-

    • facingthefireswithin says :

      You are sadly correct. The articles are long and historical but also useful to understanding the subject with nuance and detail. I liked this one from the last article: “The unity of inner virtue with the natural order of reason, the innate desire of man for the good, and the happy congruence of inner virtue with outward, public action.”

      The author is, admittedly, tying himself heavily to a military model and it ties back to the moral versus physical courage discussion I have had elsewhere.

  2. facingthefireswithin says :

    I was in the Army, but every form of thought has advantages and limitations. We tend to overuse the military mindset.

  3. aeddubh says :

    Interesting and thought-provoking. I’m not sure I agree with the author(s) on a lot of things, but the historical perspective is very useful.

    • facingthefireswithin says :

      Well, he is hyper focused on a military interpretation even when he quotes Jefferson and clearly Teddy Roosevelt is a hero of his. I like TR and want to read more of him but there are limits to that point of view.

Leave a Reply

