See a Therapist

So, this has come up a time or two either when I was presenting or talking to someone:

See a therapist, have a physician.  I am a layman with a spiritual path.  If you are having serious anger issues, seek professional help.

In general, if you are wrestling with:

  1. Anger/Rage
  2. PTSD
  3. Suicidal Ideation

GET PROFESSIONAL HELP

Talking to friends is good.  Talking to a spiritual counselor is good.  You still need a professional.  I am speaking from personal experience here.

If this does not apply to you, there is still something you can do:

ALWAYS ENCOURAGE THOSE AROUND YOU TO GET HELP.

We need to remove the stigma from mental illness.  There should be no difference in seeking a therapist than in seeing an endocrinologist and certainly no judgement.

Tags: ,

4 responses to “See a Therapist”

  1. EmberVoices says :

    I have had to tell people, at times, that I *could* not provide them with any further spiritual counseling or personal assistance until they acquired a therapist and/or saw a doctor. Too many people have wanted my help instead of getting professional help, both because they are afraid of professionals, and because I don’t charge for email discussions and simple advice (largely because I have no model for how I even would go about doing so).

    It’s frustrating, at times, how stigmatized the need for professional help is. It’s even more frustrating how stigmatized the special needs of an active mystic who also has psychological problems are among those same professionals. And it is outright maddening how expensive proper are is in the US, and how hard it is to get proper assistance if you’re poor anywhere in the world.

    *sigh*
    –Ember–

  2. HowlingFire says :

    Reblogged this on Howlingfire's Blog and commented:
    Well said Brotehr, well said. Thank you.

  3. Wendy says :

    Hell yeah. The two things that kept me from going completely useless in 2012 were my Gods reasserting themselves in my life…right around when I started seeing my new therapist. Who is awesome. And understands.

Leave a Reply

