Does the Internet make us angrier?

Remember the common joke: “Someone is wrong on the internet!”

I have been a victim of this and even got into a feud with a very dear friend for weeks before a companion gave me a trick for dealing with the issue and then I could not even remember what he said originally that upset me other than I took at as an attack on “my people”.  To be clear, at the time that was people who worked on a project with me and not some tribal or racial point of view.

Now, a Chinese study points to a strong possibility that the internet IS making us angrier:

http://www.washingtonpost.com/blogs/the-switch/wp/2013/09/16/the-internet-isnt-making-us-dumb-its-making-us-angry/?wpisrc=nl_tech

So, what can you do?

1) Limit your time reading on the internet, especially certain social networks.

2) Get outside and walk, hike, et cetera

3) Breathe

4) Read things in a silly voice like Kermit the Frog

We CAN choose to control how we react.

One response to “Does the Internet make us angrier?”

  1. Fjothr Odinsdottir Lokakvan says :

    Point 4 is excellent. I’m going to try to remember that one.

Leave a Reply

