Styles of Dealing With Anger/Rage

This is an updated version of some comments I made here:  https://facingthefireswithin.wordpress.com/2012/05/14/a-christian-site-on-anger-8/

After writing that, I discussed the Christian/Submission to Deity method with a pagan priest and he pointed out that it was entirely possible for people to hand off their anger to an appropriate pagan deity.  His point was that my method was a more “warrior-oriented” one and that others might very well be able to use the submission/offering technique even if they did not follow an Abrahamic path.  Based on that discussion and further review, I am updating my work in progress regarding dealing with Anger/Rage.  Please note that these notes, and effectively my entire blog, are experiential and based entirely on my own path and research.  Your mileage may vary.

I have broken these out as: Above, Below, Water/Ice and Fire.  It is also worth noting that my use of elements is more Fire vs. Water/Ice rather than the classic four elements of antiquity.  This is a reflection of my more Heathen orientation.  My view of these styles is as follows:

Above – This is a non-practice specific version of offering/submitting the instances of your rage and anger to a higher power.  The details will vary by your practice and the deity involved.

Below – This is, in effect, Denial.  It is forcing your feelings into your “basement” and denying they exist.  If you can envision Anger/Rage as the Beast Within, that beast will ultimately dig out of your basement and cause harm.  This is the default method for most people—until it stops working.  Once it fails, it can fail catastrophically.  (I have had comments that this could apply to any of the methods but I feel that Below/Denial carries additional risk based on my own experience.)

Water/Ice – This is my description for the methods common to practices like Buddhism, Stoicism, and Taoism, where one uses reflection and/or meditation to reduce or redirect anger.  (I do understand that there are differences between the belief systems.  This is a deliberate generalization.)  Some example sayings:

Buddhism – (From the Four Immeasurables) “May all sentient beings be in equanimity, free of bias, attachment and anger.”

Stoicism – (From Epictetus) “If you do not wish to be prone to anger, do not feed the habit; give it nothing which may tend to its increase.

Taoism – (Excerpted from verse 23 of the Tao te Ching)

Express yourself completely,
then keep quiet.
Be like the forces of nature:
when it blows, there is only wind;
when it rains, there is only rain;
when the clouds pass, the sun shines through.

Fire – This method, the one I am trying to refine and find a way to teach, involves accepting that angry part of yourself and embracing it.  You must learn to face the Rage Beast inside and walk straight into that Fire.  You must find a way to let it burn you a bit and then apply your own leash or chain while accepting that this is a valid and important part of you.  My visualization for this is Gleipnir, the chain which bound the Fenris wolf.  If you envision your Beast as your inner Fenris, then you must find—or forge—your own version of Gleipnir to bind it safely.  Doing this correctly  will help you accept your Rage and become one with it for a time without letting it possess you completely.  Once I did this, I found that I could pass through most anger with laughter.  It’s similar to the Water method in that it becomes a continuous process through maintenance and meditation, but the approach is from the opposite direction.

It is my hope and intention to refine these explanations over time as I continue research and work with those who ask for my help.

6 responses to “Styles of Dealing With Anger/Rage”

  1. Darkamber says :

    Interesting, I view Fenris has having become the “mad, furious beast” *because* He was bound.

    • facingthefireswithin says :

      Fenrir seems pretty clearly to be the embodiment of Destruction. I am willing to accept that Odin may have created a self fulfilling prophecy and that the story is rather fatalistic. I see and deal with Fenrir as a manifestation of Destruction that only seeks release at any price. I also rarely discuss him as I find him more controversial than his father.

      • Darkamber says :

        What makes me sad is that almost no-one thinks of Fenris as having more than one aspect, and that they just view Him as a monster, not a god.
        Shared personal gnosis about Fenris is that He’s a shapeshifter like His father. He prefers the wolf-form. And He has also many aspects, like all gods do.
        I think we get the aspect of a deity that we *need* in some way.

        I’ve tried to discuss Fenris in some groups, but one can’t really discuss with people who only see Him as a one-dimensional monster who is to be avoided at all costs.

      • Eric S says :

        I would not use the word “avoid”. Destruction, no matter how terrifying, has a purpose. Also, for at least some of us, it is a deep part of ourselves that we need to accept and understand. To ignore this is to walk the path of the wretches who create things like Columbine and office shootings.

Trackbacks / Pingbacks

  1. Sith versus Jedi | facingthefireswithin - January 3, 2016
  2. Revisiting “Above” | facingthefireswithin - October 12, 2017

Leave a Reply

